My Path to the Global Cancer Summit

I have struggled a great deal over the past years to find a way to combine my passions of pediatric oncology and global health.  After medical school I made the *very* non-traditional decision to pursue a Masters in Public Health before starting my residency training.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t blindly enter residency without knowing that at the end there was the possibility of a career path allowing me to combine my love for global health and oncology.  I was fortunate enough to have a wonderful mentor at Michigan that helped connect me to the world of international cancer research and many of the leaders in this field.

Soon after attending the Lance Armstrong Foundation’s Cancer Summit in Columbus, Ohio, last July, came the announcement of Lance’s return to cycling and the foundation’s plans to address the global cancer burden.  I couldn’t have been more excited.  I cannot even begin to express how the LAF Cancer Summit and the amazing individuals I met have inspired and furthered my career goals and aspirations.

Last year I completed a research year at M.D. Anderson and Texas Children’s Cancer Center through the M.D. Anderson Cancer Prevention Training Program.  A flexible research schedule and remote access allowed me the opportunity to work with a number of cancer organizations and take part in events addressing young adult cancer that I otherwise would not have had the time to do.

With 6 more years of training to go there is much to be decided in my future.  I envision myself conducting work similar to what is being carried out by St. Jude’s International Health Outreach Program.  I try to make the most of every opportunity and experience that allows me to address the global cancer burden.

I feel extremely honored to have been selected to attend the Inaugural  Livestrong Global Cancer Summit in Dublin, Ireland this coming week.   There will be over 500 world leaders, representatives of corporations, non-governmental organizations and individual advocates will convening at the Royal Dublin Society.  The schedule, and more details about the Summit, can be viewed here.

1 Comment

Filed under Cancer, Lance Armstrong Foundation, Public Health, Travels

One response to “My Path to the Global Cancer Summit

  1. This sounds like a fantastic opportunity. I hope you will blog some of the highlights of the event, would love to share that with others who can’t be there.

Leave a Reply

