Umbutu

img_1748Is a South African word, that I learned about a couple of years ago and it seems to have come up on more than a couple of occasions recently so I thought I would share for all those who haven’t heard of it.  Due to the limitations of the English language there is no direct translation but can be translated as meaning – kindness, humanity, compassion, goodness and is regarded as a fundamental way Africans approach life.  I have also seen it defined as, “I am because you are” which I think is so beautiful.  The picture is part of the pediatric oncology ward “family” in Blantyre, Malawi from my rotation there a year ago.

1 Comment

Filed under Cancer, Public Health, Quotes, Travels

One response to “Umbutu

  1. Pingback: This Ordinary Day « Be The Change

Leave a Reply

