Lance Armstrong Foundation Cancer Summit

n501789954_277027_59711I am writing this from the O’Hare airport as I wait for my flight back to Detroit. I have spent the past 4 days in Columbus, Ohio at the Lance Armstrong Foundation 2nd Livestrong Cancer Summit. I shared the long weekend with cancer survivors, care givers and health care professionals working on brainstorming on how to make cancer a national priority. The blog coverage of the event can be accessed at:

http://livestrongblog.org/

I had the chance to meet so many wonderful individuals . . .those with stories of survival as well as those that are fighting for the cause until their last day. You leave an event like this with so many new friends that you know you can always count on further networking and support. I plan to work on building up the local Livestrong Army in Houston just as soon as I arrive! I also signed to join Lance and the foundation in the Austin Livestrong Challenge in October. I leave inspired, committed, and excited to get started. I truly feel liked I joined the Livestrong community this past weekend (I know it sounds cheesy, but I mean it). 
One the most inspiring stories for someone going into pediatric oncology was that of Jack. I had the pleasure of spending the weekend with Jack’s mom. Jack has been cancer free for almost 3 years. It is patient stories like Jack’s and the many others I heard this weekend that keep me going on this long journey of training. Jack’s video was a LAF national winner and has becoming a You Tube favorite. Take a minute to check it out . . .there is always someone fighting a harder battle no matter what you are facing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AF1j95WLJSo 

Life is what we make of it

Leave a comment

Filed under Cancer, Lance Armstrong Foundation

Leave a Reply

